Nowadays some parents give money to their children if they perform well at school. Do you think this is good or bad trend?

A group of people in the society believes that if children are given some amount of money on a weekly basis, they become more serious towards knowing the importance of money. This essay agrees with this statement. Giving allowances to children is beneficial in a number of ways. Firstly, it helps in introducing and implementing the idea of budgeting. A weekly allowance reinforces the notion that the children can only receive a fixed amount every week. As a result, they have to find a way to fit their purchases within that budget. Secondly, rewarding kids on good performance is a fine idea as it gives them the incentive to do even better in future, be it studies or home chores. For instance, a kid can earn some extra bucks if they try and do additional work beyond their daily chores. Lastly, pocket money helps in developing a sense of responsibility at a young age. To illustrate this, a kid who keeps forgetting her jacket at school can be taught responsibility of her actions by telling her that the next time she loses one, she will have to contribute in order to buy a new one. Apart from that, it could also benefit parents financially. Even though parents are responsible for providing basic necessities to the kids, they can avoid extra expenses on luxury items such as candy, notebooks etc. The added benefit of weekly allowance is that, children are wary of their spending when it is coming out of their own pockets. To sum it up, there’s value in giving a weekly stipend to children. It helps in teaching them important lessons and concepts in personal finances as they grow older.