nowadays some buildings such as offices have open space design instead of separate rooms. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

It is a true fact that few offices have independent cubicles while others have common areas for work. Although, many may see it as a positive phenomenon, it is not a trend without drawbacks. Both the merits and demerits will be discussed before a reasonable conclusion can be drawn. The first and foremost advantage is that open spaces enhance your problem solving skills because professionals will help each other which, evidently stimulate the way of thinking towards the issue via brainstorming. For example, I was going through a newspaper article published in The Telegraph in which, it was mentioned that a recent survey conducted by an eminent professor at The Center of Business Growth at Harvard University revealed that the teams sitting in a single room are potentially 79 percent more accurate in giving solutions than teams sitting in individual rooms. Second worth mentioning advantage here is that common floor area encourages social gathering among skilled professionals which creates a conducive environment. Moreover, putting team leaders with their team members help each other to understand personally as well as professionally. This tends to improve the leadership quality and technicality of the members including administrative knowledge. After analysing both the views, I am of the opinion that buildings having open spaces are more valuable to the economic growth of the organisations rather that separate rooms.