Nowadays, social media has become extremely popular in our lives, especially for younger generations and businessmen who opt to communicate each other and do business by means of these websites

Nowadays, social media has become extremely popular in our lives, especially for younger generations and businessmen who opt to communicate each other and do business by means of these websites. Of course, such decisions have their pros and cons, and these will be discussed in this essay. One of the most noteworthy advantages of social networking sites is connectivity. They can connect innumerable people around the world, from any place at any time. For example, users can use Facebook to stay in touch with friends and relatives easily, and join to different groups for making friends online according to the same interests. Additionally, social networks as YouTube offer great opportunities for business owners. In fact, thanks to them many local artists and musicians could promote their brand. Without social media sites there were no possible way of connecting with old friends, making new friends, fans and building strong relationships. Turning to the other side, many teenagers and kids get addictive to Instagram and YouTube, which brings negative effects due to they can spend a lot of time without any benefit. On the contrary, it could affect their studies, careers, social life and even physical health. Another drawback is that these social sites reduce family quality time. Earlier, people used to spend time with their family member by sitting together and discussing any issue each other. But now, cellphones have replaced face- to-face interactions and they want to be alone. All things are considered, social platforms have their negative and positive aspects for the human beings and society. However, personally, I believe they could be beneficial if we take advantage of them in a smart and positive way.