Nowadays people waste a lot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away?

In some parts of the world, food is still highly valued. In urbsn areas, however, particularly in the developed world, food waste is becoming major concern. This essay will examine the causes of this problem and suggest ways that people can curb the amount that they discard. The two men factors are behind the rise in food waste. The first is the rising incomes of the populations, which has meant higher disposable incomes. In other words, whereas 50 years ago, the average family had around $50 per month to spend on food and entertainment, now the figure is more like $2, 000, and so the idea of buying something and not consuming it is unremarkable. The second factor, linked to the first, is the mordern throw- away culture in which all products are treated as disposable. Since it is not uncommon to find valuable household items thrown in the bin, it is also unsurprising to see half the family's groceries binned without concern. Tackling this issue involves altering the publics mindset. This needs to happen via awareness- raising campaigns. The ABC, for instance, be in the everything for instance, launched one such initiative with the war on waste TV series and website in 2016, which presented troubling facts on the effects of our consumption and waste. Given the profound impact of this series on the Australian public, it would be worth expanding wastage, such projects could also educate them better on practical matters such as shopping smarter and storing food correctly. In conclusion, unless efforts are made to shift the public consciousness, this problem will only escalate. While governments have a critical role to play, individuals too need to take responsibility for their shopping habits in order to cut down on waste food.