Nowadays people waste a lot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants.

Food plays a significant role in our everyday life but, unfortunately, not every person is aware of such a problem as waste of food. This essay will specify main factors which cause products to be thrown away at restaurants or homes and propose ways of tackling this problem. At least two important reasons help to explain why food has been thrown away in recent decades. Firstly, people in restaurants happen to order too many dishes which they cannot consume. The reason for this is that restaurant-keepers do not inform their clients about the size of the meals they serve. As a result, customers can not finish the ordered food and it is thrown away into the rubbish bin. Secondly, people may purchase too much products in the supermarkets. This phenomenon happens due to very inventive strategies of marketing specialists who are in charge of creating very vivid and attractive packaging. Thus, customers are getting dependent on these marketing tricks and buy not the amount of food they actually need but even more than that. Eventually, some of the purchased products rot in the fridge after which go directly to the garbage bin. Resolving this issue involves converting the public’s attitude towards spending disposable income on food. It is crucially important to conduct raising awareness campaigns. For instance, authorities might launch an initiative to inform citizens how drastically wasted food affects the environment. Such projects could be carried out via advertisements on public transport. If these actions are taken it will not only warn people about dangerous consequences of food wastage but also educate them on proper shopping habits. In conclusion, I strongly believe that the problem of food waste exists in many states. If we want this issue to be tackled than actions in this direction must be taken in the shortest time possible.