Nowadays, people use social media to keep up with the news. Why do they do this? Do you think this is a positive or a negative trend?

Without an iota of doubt, social sites have become a key source of information for society. These days, the preference for using social media has increased to such an extent that the majority of people keep updated themselves with news through various social sites only. There are enormous reasons behind this drastic change. I, however, believe that using social media for news can be detrimental for both an individual and society. With the dawn of amazing technological advancements, people of all age groups have heavily relied on websites, such as Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, LinkedIn etcetera, which persuaded the majority of new channels to invest in mobile applications to telecast news on social media. It not only facilitate convenience to the readers but also provides entertainment in form of ‘memes’ along with news updates. News on social media is not only a cost-effective approach but also, an interactive way of reading boring news. It can be seen that some social blogs represent the news along with animated designing, which captivates the people and encourages them to read the news. When it comes to reviewing option on social media, it is the best key which enables an individual to participate in group discussions or debates and to give opinions. Thus, leading to a proliferation of awareness in the society about current affairs and the latest updates. Ergo, there are enormous perks that stimulate individuals to keep update themselves with news on social websites On the other hand, chances of exaggeration of negative news are always high on social media, which changes the nature of news. Consequently, it leads to controversy, and sometimes dispute arises. Indeed, rumors, fake news, and other data privacy issues have always existed on social media, which shake the trust and credibility of the reader. Also, such false statements have adverse effects on society, which ultimately, leads to heinous crimes. Not only this, continuously scrolling on social media to read news makes an individual 'social networking addicted ' and leads to many health issues, such as weakening of eyesight, depression, anxiety, etcetera. Therefore, these dire or unavoidable consequences happens usually, which cannot be ignored at any cost. Undoubtedly, with the advent of technology, the adoption of reading news on social media has increased tremendously, because of its convenience approach and other perks associated with it. However, it is quite risky for the reader to attain the correct news on social media as it displays merely negative or false statement that leads to utter confusion.