Nowadays, people prefer to shop in supermarkets rather than local stores. What are the reasons behind it? Is it a negative or positive development?

Hypermarkets are the largest grocery store selling a wide variety of foods and other products. Mostly, the society tends to patronize these stores rather than local shops in their area that may beneficial to the nation. Superstores offer a vast selection of items from dry goods such as canned foods, packed and bottled stuff as well. Frozen meat products, freshly harvest fruits and vegetables, toiletries and household items are also in stock in this shop. Shoppers are attracted to visit here since they are selling everything that they need. They don't need to transfer in each store since the products there are fully organized on each shelf and labeled properly and also easy to find. Going to these places tends to be therapeutic for some people because they randomly find things that they can use at home. Having airconditioned stores attract people to buy their grocery since the place is more cozy and convenient than in local stores which are commonly located in an open and crowded area. Numerous customers who shop in supermarkets mean higher sales and demand that resulted in low income for the local stores. These may affect the community since most of them are relying upon their own local businesses. These cause drawbacks to corner shops nearby the hypermarket due to sudden decrease in sales and the possibility to close their own small store. In summary, more people who patronized good from the supermarket due to the fact that it offers a plethora of products and the experience while doing some groceries. These things are beneficial for the bigger store, on the contrary, this gives some disadvantages to local small business who are selling limited variety and quantity of goods that resulted to the closing of their stores.