Nowadays, people care about their appearance more than before.

are a large number of reasons behind this attitude. The first culprit is media. Media is responsible for glorifying people like models and film stars. People are made to believe that everything they put on is necessary to keep oneself up to date. To illustrate, media is flooded with advertisements of beauty products, jewelry, and clothes. Most of these products are aimed at females or children as it is believed that they are more vulnerable to such influences. Media gave birth to the dictum ‘better be out of the world than out of fashion’. The propaganda they promote is that being modern and good-looking is as vital as food and shelter. Yet another reason for this trend is the coming up of new professions like hospitality and management. It is a part of these professions to be good-looking and charming to attract people. There was a time when people gave far less stress on appearance as their life was labor-intensive and as media had far less influence on them. However, the nature of jobs has changed markedly. The modern glamorous professions require attractive personality, which includes linguistic skills and most importantly, good physical appearance. In total, it seems that being fashionable is an inescapable inevitability in these modern days and the reason behind this change is that to survive in modern society, people need it. As they say, “while in Rome, do as Romans do’.