nowadays, parents tend to give their children whatever they want and let them do what they like. is this good for children? what are the consequences of this trend when they grow up?

Parents often give children everything they ask for and let them do what they like. Is it good for children? What are the consequences when they grow up? Which parenting style is suitable for a child’s growth has always been a hotly debatable topic. However, there has been an ongoing trend towards satisfying all children’s needs and allowing them to do whatever they want. From my point of view, this way of rearing kids can be detrimental to themselves not only in their childhood but also in their adulthood. There are two compelling reasons why I believe that over-indulgent parenting will do harm for their children. Less self-reliance is likely to be the first significant disadvantage of this child-rearing practice. With most of their childhood having their desire that are fulfilled, offspring will not appreciate the value of things and will not try their best to get them. To take education as an example, these spoon-fed students usually do not spare no effort in exams, leading to their poor academic results. Aside from children’s dependence, the lack of awareness of their limits can also be considered as another demerit. Without knowing their restrictions, the youth might be unable to regulate themselves, which causes them to easily throw tantrum, use prohibited words and show disrespect to the older, all of which are the precursor to spoil their personality. If this child-nourishing method do not cease, several devastating implications will affect children when they enter their adulthood. Firstly, adolescence without any self-dependance = self-reliance may struggle in dealing with many facets of life when entering the society. For example, for these people who do not realize the value of money due to being excessively accommodated, it would be hard for them to build up as well as maintaining their financial state in the future life. Secondly, the absence of parents’ supervision may result in the lack of social knowledge of the rebellious adolescence. If these youngsters do not receive proper education, they will not be able to distinguish between good and bad influences and might be associated with illegal activities such as using or smuggling drugs, robbing, and even murdering in the worst-case scenario. In conclusion, I believe that granting children’s every request and not limiting their acts can spell trouble for their development, which leads to a vast amount of repercussion in their later life.