Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on the society?

In several parts of the world, science as a major subject is been ignored by learners in educational institutions. The ignorance of adolescence for science as a specific stream could have adverse effect on development of society. This essay will discuss about the possible cause and ramifications on the society. Firstly, Science is a demanding stream, students needs to put a lot of effort to cope up with studies. For instance, Numerous amount of energy and time is consumed for preparation of projects and completion of assignments. This results in less free time and excessive stress in order to meet time line. For example, a survey conducted in 2011 by UK chartered of education suggested stress as a possible cause for youth to desert science as major subject and opting for easier, stress-free subjects like arts and business management. They suggested free stress management consultation program to be run by universities to assist and motivate the teenagers. Secondly, Attraction of students towards other subjects rather than science would create shortage in specialist field. There would be fewer people in the field of technology which will result in less number of inventions and creative ideas. This could impact the futuristic development of the mankind. On the other hand, Specific streams of other subjects would have more number of graduates for employment. This might disturb the supply demand ratio in the job market and will lead to unemployment resulting in burden on economy. To conclude, Stress is the possible cause for the students to ignore science as major subject and a stress management program provided by the universities will help to overcome this issue.