A lot of money is spent on repairing old buildings. Instead of repairing old buildings that money should be spent on knocking down old buildings and build new ones. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Deciding where to pour money for the betterment of infrastructure has always been a topic of debate. Some people suggest that in place of repairing the old buildings, it is good to knock them down and construct a new one. However, I completely disagree with the given opinion and the reasons for my disagreement are explained in further essay. There are some compelling reasons why people feel that demolishing old sites is a convenient option. One of the reason is the cost, generally old constructions need more money to reconstruct with the latest facilities. For example, repairing the dome-shaped roofs of ancient times is quite expensive in the 21st century. Moreover, in old time there were minimal facilities in the house and if that building needs repairing. Thus, to some knocking down the old buildings is a more pocket-friendly way. Though, I strongly believe that these ages-old home not only have become part of our cultural heritage, but they also depict the artistic designs of the ancient dynasties. For illustration, the old polls in Gujarat, they are around 400years old built under the Mughal rule. While I concede that, it is dangerous to live in such sites as they can collapse anytime, still I think these are part of the tourist attractions. Many people travel all around the world to see and understand the architecture style of previous rulers. The prime example is the Taj Mahal, it is one of the oldest building in the world and still a huge sum is spent on maintenance. Hence, in my opinion, fixing certain flaws in existing buildings is a finer alternative. In conclusion, although restoration is exorbitant, I think old construction are of great significance and should not be destroyed and the government should think of other ways to curb the cost of repair by organising some donations.