Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries.what are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on the society?

It is true that the number of science students are becoming inadequate in different parts of world in these days. This essay will discuss about the possible cause and ramifications on the society. There are two principal factors that contribute to the common disinterest in science subjects. First, those subjects are often challenging and require a lot of diligence as well as great deal of patience and intelligence. The number of researches that an average Biology student has to do is more than other subjects with higher level of both difficulty and commitment, which discourages many students from choosing science as their majors. Second, employment opportunities in this particular field are limited and extremely competitive. Although a huge amount of time and effort is spent on science study at school, there is still little chance for them to get a job after graduation. Attraction of students towards other subjects rather than science would create shortage in specialist field. There would be fewer people in the field of technology which will result in less number of inventions and creative ideas. This could impact the futuristic development of the mankind. On the other hand, Specific streams of other subjects would have more number of graduates for employment. This might disturb the supply demand ratio in the job market and will lead to unemployment resulting in burden on economy. To conclude, Stress is the possible cause for the students to ignore science as major subject and a stress management program provided by the universities will help to overcome this issue.