Nowadays more and more people are becoming obese and less involved in sporting activities. What do you think are the causes and possible effects of this problem?

There is no way around the fact that obesity has become a major disease prevalent among people in many countries in recent years. There are some reasons behind this problem, and it has led to a number of adverse effects. The primary reason for obesity is that many people have unhealthy eating habits. As the modern lifestyle is busier and more stressful than ever before, people tend to devote most of their time to work and leave no time to prepare meals for themselves. Therefore, they often trade their long-term health for the convenience of fast food. This kind of food is medically proved to contain a high proportion of fat and other harmful ingredients, which directly results in some serious health problems including obesity and various illnesses associated with it such as high blood pressure, diabetes and heart disease. Another factor contributing to obesity is the allure of technology. In the era of modern technology, people these days can have better access to the internet through smartphones and computers. Consequently, they may be addicted to playing games or social networks such as Facebook or Instagram rather than participating in physical exercise. Due to this sedentary lifestyle, considerable amounts of calories consumed every day cannot be converted into energy but accumulated in the body, causing obesity epidemics. In conclusion, the rise in obesity is caused by several factors including unhealthy diets and the sedentary modern lifestyle, and as a result, the rates of illnesses such as diabetes and heart disease have increased.