Nowadays more and more older people, who are looking for work, compete with younger people for the same jobs. What problems does this cause? What are some possible solutions?

These days old people often try to get the same job as young people, which causes serious competition. This essay will discuss the main problems associated with this trend and propose some possible solutions to address the problem. The main problems caused by competition between generations are the decrease in the number of vacancies. The large number of applicants for one job makes the job search process more and more difficult. More often than not, doors are closed to young people, because companies prefer experienced professionals. Moreover, as economists suggest, this will increase unemployment, in particular among young people. This tendency also leads to the fact that very young graduates of universities will find it much more difficult to get a job in their specialty. Very young and inexperienced workers in large companies are not particularly welcome. Therefore, young people have to go to work not in their specialty, such as in fast food restaurants. In my opinion, the best solution to these problems is to reduce the retirement age, which will get rid of most of the elderly in the workplace. But in order for all old people not to be left out of work, it is necessary to develop training programs, as well as to prevent cases when companies fire people pre-retirement age or refuse to hire them. All this improves the process of employment of old and young specialists, but at the same time, much more vacancies will be vacated for the young, due to the retirement of many older workers. In conclusion, intergenerational competition causes many problems, including unemployment. Therefore, the most optimal solution to this problem is to reduce the retirement age and attract young specialists.