Nowadays more and more older people, who are looking for work, compete with younger people for the same jobs. What problems does this cause? What are some possible solutions?

Currently it is common that older people are ought to compete with younger ones for the same type of work, which creates some problems. This essay will cite out the main issues that might be faced and suggest possible solutions. First of all, elder ones are suffering from the employers’ desire to hire younger generation, mainly due to the belief that they are more suitable for the position. This is associated with elders’ possible luck of knowledge towards new technologies, which are critical part of jobs, while youth is expected to be aware of all aspects of the information tools. Subsequently, if old people do not get the job, they will have financial struggles. Usually, the received pension is disastrously small and barely enough for living, not mentioning treating themselves. Therefore, elders are in serious financial troubles. The above discussed problem can be tackled through two ways. One way is ensuring necessary skill training for elders. For example, the government should provide accessible lessons which will help elders efficiently navigate through technical facilities. This will flourish their knowledge, thus they will be able to be competitive with younger generation, and even more appropriate candidate because of their long time experience. Another way is creation of more available jobs by attracting foreign organizations to invest with additional incentives. To sum up, the competition among the young and the old workers will be solved only if elders are given a bigger variety of jobs to choose from, as some crucial knowledge for one job might be hard for them to learn.