Nowadays men’s sports are given far more attention by society compared to women’s sports. What are the reasons for that? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is true that sports played by men receive more attention from society than the same sports played by women. Before deciding if this is a positive or negative thing, it is necessary to look at the reasons for this development. One main reason for this is that men are generally stronger and faster than women. While this is not always true, most male sportsmen can compete at a higher level than women. For example, while they were preparing for the Winter Olympics, the Canadian national women’s hockey team lost a game to a local boys’ high school team. People often watch sports to find out who is the best and in sports men are usually better. The effect of money in sport is also another reason. Many sports teams are big businesses and earn millions of dollars through advertising and selling team products. Due to the fact that more men watch sport than women, and men tend to watch male sports, these sports get more media attention which helps them to grow even more. Although, it is true that some female sports are getting more popular, including golf and tennis, they are still far behind the male versions. It is difficult to say whether this is a positive development or a negative one. People will watch what they like and are not going to watch something just because they should be “fair”. What is important is that everyone has an opportunity to participate in a sport and be successful. However, sports viewers and advertisers want to see someone dunk a basketball or run 100m in under ten seconds, and this is something that makes male sports more attractive.