In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decided to do this.

Intermediary studies gap, particularly before starting university studies are advised to students in few countries mainly to overcome boredom and enhance focus on studies. Although, there have been various findings confirming the detrimental effects as well. This essay will discuss both; advantages and disadvantages of doing so. Students get used to the monotonous life cycle for at least ten years as they approach high school and a year gap before admitting into the university can be a best escape for exploring other extra curricular interests such as paintings, hiking, travelling etc. Since, university studies require more discipline and concentration towards the studies as compared to the high school, such gaps have proven fruitful in building sharp and focused minds. Moreover, the period provide the chance of building careers in the areas of interests. A study by oxford university has found, more than 80% of the students are unable to pursue career in the are of their interests, as they never know what are their desires and capabilities. On the other hand, this strategy do have negative affect on some. Some students starts indulging into the wrong segment of the society. Being adolescence, young people are more susceptible to drugs, weapons etc. due to high adrenaline inrush. Studies have reported, 95% of the criminals start their activities at the teenager stage. Secondly, student doing pretty well into science can start finding alternate interests which will hamper his university performance. To recapitulate, there are both pros and cons of the study gap. Gap could provide an lifetime opportunity to explore new careers and improve university performance, while it could also lead a student into unethical workspace. However, the guided gap can be extremely helpful for the young students.