Nowadays many researchers are being sponsored by private organizations. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The scientific findings, which play a prominent role in modern society these days, are being carried out by private companies’ investment. Although there are a number of benefits to this, I believe the drawbacks involved are more. On the plus side, both society and individual benefit financially from this trend. At the community scale, allocated resources to these projects can be spent on other sectors of country. This is, if private companies bear the financial burden of these studies that part of the budget could be invested where there was a greater need. For instance, space research, which is considered a costly one, could be supported by private companies thus its cost might be employed to solve the other important problems of society. Furthermore, the salary packages offered by large companies to scientists are mostly attractive enough to motivate youngsters to join these projects. Previously, they were paid less by governments. However, this participation has its own difficulties. The most axiomatic argument is concerned with the result of findings. It seems that these results can be manipulated in favor of a particular group. For example, in the field of medicine, there is a possibility that a firm does not reveal the side effects of a drug correctly because of the bulk amount of money they will earn from selling that drug. Moreover, this possibility is provided for them to invest hugely in a number of products before publishing the results and make more money than others. To sum up, regardless to benefit, I think the corruption that forms behind this matter is likely to put society in jeopardy and its impact will be reflected in the future.