Nowadays, many people use social media to communicate with others in social and professional life. Discuss advantages and disadvantages of social media. Give your own opinion and relevant examples

Social media is very powerful to reach any target audience; and therefore, swelling number of people communicates through this in their social as well as professional life. Along with the benefits, there are some drawbacks too. Both, the gains and the dangers of using social media are discussed further. Discussing the brighter side, the biggest benefit is that the social media helps to stay connected in all realms of life. It facilitates open communication, leading to enhanced information, discovery and delivery. Moreover, the communication is almost free. For individuals, this media is a great source of socializing as on facebook, entertainment and information sharing as on Quora. On the other hand, the professional side has some advantages too. This source allows employees to post and share ideas, news, queries and share links. All this help in widening business and ways of earning a livelihood. Despite the mentioned worth of social media, there are few dangers it poses. The most feared is that of addiction. Young people or professionals, for instance, when addicted, waster their productive hours by indulging on expressing themselves on the social media. Besides this, there is always the risk of loosing one’s privacy as a consequences of too much personal information here. The disadvantage of reduced face-to-face communication is already seen. The art of conversation and verbal communication is becoming extinct. To cap it all, the list of cyber crimes such as hacking, cyber frauds, span and virus attacks must not be forgotten. To wrap up, it can be finally commented that indeed in today’s time growing numbers use social media to communicate. Although, there are some loose ends, I firmly believe that the benefits outweigh the drawbacks. In fact, social media has become one of the most popular ways of socializing and communication.