Nowadays many people prefer to be self-employed rather than work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What are the disadvantages of being self-employed? f this

In this day and age, many individuals prefer working for themselves to being employed in a company or an organization. The main reason for this is the increased amount of freedom one gets while being self-employed. This essay will explain the reasons people choose to be their own boss and then examine the disadvantages associated with it. To begin with, there are two main reasons of choosing to be a freelancer. Firstly, it provides the opportunity to have a flexible schedule. For example, people who feel that they are not productive or are busy during the normal working hours from 9 to 5 can choose to work at their own convenience. In other words, they can decide and adjust their working schedule based on their needs. Another reason is that they can work from home. Due to advancements in technology, we are all connected via internet, people can freelance from their own homes for client based jobs and complete tasks without having to travel to an office. On the other hand, freelancing has some disadvantages as well. Most people working for themselves lack the expertise and experience needed to effectively function. A lot of new startup companies fail to grow because they do not have the domain knowledge and skills that come with the companies that have been in the market since a long time. Not only this but also, freelancers usually lack the self-discipline to succeed. To give an example, established firms usually have fixed deadlines and meetings from time to time to make sure that the employees are meeting the targets. However, freelancers do not have to answer to anyone and may skip the deadlines or miss the set targets. To sum up, freedom and comfort usually make people want to be self-employed. However, if the self-discipline and the expertise is missing they may fail to prosper on their own.