Nowadays many people have access to computers and a large number of children enjoy playing video games. What are the advantages and disadvantages of playing video games for children?

The advent of technology in our everyday lives has improved every aspect of our routines: how we work, how we communicate and how we play games in our spare time. A relatively cheaper personal computer provides kids with the possibility to play multiple games online: from chess, to go, from virtual poker, to more complex games of strategy. In my opinion, a revolution of this kind brings its own advantages for kids, as it has been proved that games in general stimulate cognitive and thinking abilities and with video games, this opportunity is readily available. On the other hand, excess in time spent in front of a computer should be limited for the sake of the kid. Firstly, there is an abundance of video games that tend to stimulate strategy skills in very young kids. Finding a website that allows users to compete through chess or Go games is very easy today. These same games expose kids to the sense of fair competition and how to think in order to achieve a goal. Therefore, the advent of computers has not cancelled out the existence of these useful games; it has just made them available for a large number of people. At the same time, videogames can inspire children to the point that they become the starting point for a career in software engineering or related fields. Many computer scientists have chosen their path by being avid video game players, just like the founder of Google Deep Mind. On the other hand, exposure to excessively violent and banal games such as sports games should not be hindered but at least limited. Games of this kind tend to involve repetitive tasks that do not require much brain power, inducing children in a state of brain torpor while playing. In addition to the negative impact on the brains, such games can become addictive and be the source for complete waste of time. In conclusion, video games can bring their positive aspects, depending on the type of game a kid decides to play. It goes without saying that a good balance may be needed, given that children cannot only play strategy games during their free time. However, playing with games on the opposite side of the spectrum should be kept under control.