News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. What is your opinion about this?

It is common to see that there are pictures attached to news whether it is on TV or in a newspaper. It is said by some that this is more effective than just dictating or printing words. I too think it is an acceptable trend. The primary reason behind my stand is because of the fact that people like to visualize things than reading words continuously, which they find is boring at some point. In the past, news telecasted on the TV was mostly without live presentations or pictures. Later, when news channels became commercialized, innovative techniques were adopted to enhance the rating of those channels. One such adopted change is accompanying pictures and videos simultaneously with the news reading process. Similarly, newspapers also started printing high definition and multi-color pictures to gain more circulation. In both the cases, they succeeded because they could manipulate the basic instinct of humans, which is the preference of pictures to words. The second reason why I agree is that pictures can give the provision of predicting, even if either the newspaper reader or the TV viewer is not so proficient at the language. For example, for those who use English as a second language, pictorial representation is much beneficial as occasionally they find it difficult to read between the lines. However, very rarely, pictures can be falsely interpreted and in such cases, the news becomes less genuine. To conclude, despite some very rare drawbacks, the trend of portraying pictures along with news whether it is on TV or the newspaper is really a progressive idea.