Nowadays many people go shopping in their free time. Shopping has replaced many other activities that people used to choose as their hobby. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

In the current scenario, shopping is the main activity people prefer doing in their leisure time rather than performing any activity as per their hobbies. Many reasons are there that have led people to choose shopping than pursuing hobby and it is definitely a negative development which needs serious attention. To embark upon, people are often seen shopping in the big malls along with their friends or family members. First and major reason behind this can be the fact that large shopping malls are attractive and popular source of recreational activity, and hence people go for buying things whenever they get free time. For example, working professionals visit Big Bazaar, a famous mall with branches all across the nation, during weekends rather than going for sports activities. Secondly, sedentary lifestyle of people allows them to avoid any physical activity such as playing badminton or basketball. While there is nothing wrong to do shopping but ignoring other activities that you would otherwise perform as hobbies is surely not the right thing to do. People should be motivated by their friends or family members to enjoy sports activities by playing together some games such as cricket, badminton and others. Such healthy activities would help them to gain leadership skills and boost up their personalities. Apart from this, competitions should be organized in the societies so that people can put efforts learning the skills to win such contests. For instance, creative art workshops can be organized and the one that performs well can be rewarded. To conclude with, shopping is essential and inevitable part of daily life. However, it should not be considered as a hobby and one should utilize time for other healthy activities as well.