Advances in technology mean that many people today work from home. What has led to this change? Is it a positive or negative development?

Technology like internet has transformed the lives of people. A lot of employers perform office work from home because of the advancements in technology. Although there are certain drawbacks, but benefits definitely outweigh the disadvantages. To embark on, the major pros of working from home is that it saves employee’s time, and they can utilize this time on fruitful work of organization, as a result, company will achieve target in short period of time. This is because workers have to travel for work, and their time is consumed as they have to wait for long hours in traffic. In the past, individuals used to travel for business meeting and work from one country to another country and organization had to bear expensive ticket price as well as waste of time, but now they can take the advantage of various platform. For instance, zoom and other apps offers reliable online working and meeting environment from their homes. In addition, pregnant women who are unable to attend workplace because of her health condition can work from home, and this will benefit her babies and her health too. Also, at the same time parents can take care of family member as well as can spend quality time with their family. Not only Guardian can assist child in their study but also they can raise their kids in better ways. These days because of the busy schedule of their parents in office they don’t have sufficient time for their kids which hampers children’s study as well as they are likely to involve in illegal activities. On the other hand, there is reduction in traffic congestion and environmental problem since working form their house makes less traffic jam, and makes environment free form pollution problems. During the office peak time many people have to face road traffic and this consume the employee’s time, and are unable to reach office in time. For instance, Kathmandu, which is the capital city of Nepal during office hours there is traffic congestion due to the fact that many people travel to work at same time. Many people opine that increasing number of private vehicle for the work will causes pollution problem as the number of cars increase in the road these cars generate large amount of fumes which is harmful for environment as well as human beings. This issue can be mitigate if organization encourage their employers to work from their homes. In addition, individual can work from any place despite the geographical barriers, and don’t need to waste money staying in other place. For instance, there are lots of freelancer sites such as upwork. com, nepalrojgar. com available in the internet, which encourage skilled workers to work from anyplace. However, There are also numerous demerits of working from home. First, lack of physical contact with their team mates leads to misunderstanding with them, and they may not be able to submit project on given deadlines. Also, some time there may be confusion in work, and if there is no one to share the confusion, this will frustrate the employee and leads to mental problems. Working form home, we may be disturb by the kids and unable to concentrate on the work. For example, because of the kids and children many parents have problem on time management for work. In conclusion, we cannot deny the fact that online work brings several merits in the community by solving the issue of vehicular traffic and reduction in air pollution.