Nowadays many people complain that they have difficulty getting enough sleep. What problems can lack of sleep cause? What can be done about lack of sleep?

In recent years, there have been rise in issues of sleep disturbance in humans. This essay will first suggest that the biggest problems caused by this phenomenon are the adverse effects on cognitive capacities and physical health and then argue that meditation and avoidance of stimulants are the most viable solutions. The foremost problems caused by lack of sleep are that mental abilities and physical wellbeing are often affected. As the amount of proper sleep decreases, mental abilities, such as attention, concentration, memory, are impaired further. Furthermore, millions of people having inadequate sleep suffer from a plethora of health problems due to the fact that rest is needed for healthy functioning of the body. The consequences brought about by this was clearly depicted in WHO report stating that thousands of people had surge in adverse outcomes including hypertension, diabetes mellitus in relation to insufficient sleep. Possible solutions to these problems would be to meditate and to avoid the use of substances that harm sleep. If people with frequent complaints of lack of sleep involve in various relaxation methods such as meditation, the negative effects on the cognitive abilities will be reduced and this will also aid in relaxing during the onset of sleep which increases the chance of people falling asleep easily. Moreover, if the use of stimulants such as caffeine, nicotine are deterred, it can prevent both health issues and insomnia. In regards to this, a group of doctors in the United States of America have conducted a research involving thousands of nicotine users in which the abstinence from nicotine for 3 months resulted in improvement in their sleep and respiratory health. To conclude, the complications in cognition and health caused by inadequate sleep are one of the foremost challenges people face. Nevertheless, possible solutions could be to promote relaxation exercises and to deter the use of drugs that hamper sleep.