Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

A number of people in present times are more interested in becoming entrepreneurs instead of working for a company or an organisation. This may be due to many reasons like better income, no pressure from higher authorities etcetera. To begin with, there are a lot of perks of being a self-employed person. For example, they do not have any deadlines, work pressure and they do not have to maintain a tight schedule. Entrepreneurs can fix their own time and timetable and they can do work how ever they want from home or while travelling whereas, employees working for a multinational company should follow a strict timetable and rules of the organisation, they may have to work extra hours if they are asked to do so and they do not even granted holidays when needed. Moreover, they have low income as compared to the people who do their own business. On the other hand, there are equal number of diasadvantages of being self-employed person like they have to invest huge amounts of money to start a business or to buy the goods needed to establish a small scale company on their own. And they have to take risks as their growth is based on many factors and if the business is declining they may have to face losses and even worse someone people fall into financial crisis. In addition to this, entrepreneurs do not have job security as the employers of a company has. In conclusion, increasing number of people are showing their interest in starting their own business as it has many advantages which outweigh the disadvantages and manyo other still prefer working for a company