Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

A number of people in present times are more interested in becoming entrepreneurs instead of working for a company or an organization. This may be due to many reasons like better income, no pressure from higher authorities etc. To begin with, there are a lot of perks of being a self-employed person. For example, they do not have any deadlines, work pressure, and they do not have to maintain a tight schedule. Entrepreneurs can fix their own time and timetable, and they can do work however they want from home or while travelling whereas, employees working for a multinational company should follow a strict timetable and rules of the organization, they may ought to work extra hours if they are asked to do consequently, and they do not even grant holidays when needed. Moreover, they have low income as compared to the people who do their own business. On the other hand, there are equal number of disadvantages of being self-employed person like they ought to invest huge amounts of money to start a business or to buy the goods needed to establish a tiny scale company on their own. And they ought to take risks as their growth is based on numerous factors and if the business is declining they may ought to face losses and even worse someone falls into financial crisis. In addition to this, entrepreneurs do not have job security as the employers of a company has. In conclusion, increasing number of people are showing their interest in starting their own business as it has a plethora of advantages which outweigh the disadvantages and many other still prefer working for a company