Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In the recent decade, there has been a dramatic shift of the work culture where people prefer to be their own bosses instead of working for an institution. This changing trend could be due many possible reasons. Firstly, by reporting only to oneself removes the possibility of a tyrant head sitting on top of the hierarchical order and expecting you to meet the unreasonable deadlines. Secondly, people are starting to realize the importance of mental health and a number of them wish to stay miles away from the rat race and the pressurizing culture the office has to offer. Last but not the least, people are able to manage their finances better by planning and investing therefore relying only on the salary is not the case anymore. Although, being your own boss as alluring it sounds, has many pitfalls. To name a few, Qualities like leadership skills, working with a team are not developed while working alone. In order to be more productive there is a need of constant motivation to check on your progress. For example, research has shown that individuals perform better while under pressure, also a constructive criticism usually leads the way in giving better results thus reporting to oneself could mean not working to your full potential. Being self employed would also mean to carry the burden of finances completely on your shoulders and be in a constant struggle to make profits which otherwise would have been the company’s headache. While many people quit their white- collar jobs to explore their dream job- to work only for themselves the question remains does it really outweigh the many listed cons?