Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society.

Social media is an essential part of our lives whether we like it or not. While some have used it for numerous benefits others consider it as a waste of time. I believe that it actually good if the user doesn't spend too much time on it. Mostly people working in a professional capacity as managers and over the age of 35 consider social media as a waste of precious time. The way they see it is that each hour spent on social media is an hour of productivity lost. Young workers browsing their Instagram or Facebook accounts during business hours is a common occurrence. This results in distracted employees who don't focus on their work. These managers then go home to be welcomed by the sight of thier kids consuming entertain on Facebook, YouTube or other such platform. This leads to lack of quality time spent together as a family. Most people however realize the importance of social media. A lot of business houses understand the utility of it and exploit it to their favour. Fashion, tourism and education are just a few industries amongst others that have used social media to attract clients and increase sales. My parents own a fashion apparel business and use Instagram to attract clients and grow from there. Another use of social media is that it serves as a great platform for news updates. The best example of this would be the recent elections conducted in USA. The results of these elections were broadcasted live on twitter better than traditional media. While the world is divided in its stand towards social media, one thing is clear that it has integrated into our lives band is here to stay. Some people due the lack of will power may have harmed from it, the world by and large is thankful for it. I believe that it is a mark of progress to adopt to it.