Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Recently, more and more individuals start working for themselves instead of working for a company or an institution. The increase number of self-employed workers is resulted from several different reasons. However, working as a freelancer can also lead to unpleasant consequences to the workers. One of the pleasures of becoming self-employed is being able to choose the hours when you work, which indicates a greater freedom in terms of planing the schedule. More specifically, this allows people to organize their tasks according to their strengths. For example, if a person feels himself being most productive in the morning, he can simply choose to complete the most demanding tasks in the morning instead of following a strict schedule given by a company. On the other hand, working for oneself also means a potential decrease in the daily costs. For instance, it is likely that a freelancer is able to save some of the expense that might have occurred at the office, such as the money he invests in uniform, and the traffic fee that he need to pay for everyday commuting. However, choosing to be self-employed may also have some disadvantages. One major problem in this case is the unstable income attached to this style of working. There is no guarantee that a self-employed person will earn enough to live a comfortable life. When people work for a company, they have the assurance of a guaranteed salary at the end of each month. However, this guarantee is missing when people decide to work for themselves. Another problem of self-employment is the feeling of isolation which many self-employers find themselves difficult to conquer after working along for a long time. In addition, as working along simply means less opportunities of meeting new friends, it may also negatively affect your communicative ability. In conclusion, although many people prefer working as self-employers because they are likely to enjoy a more flexible schedule and save money in some circumstances, working as a freelancer can still bring some negative effects such as unstable income and feeling of isolation.