Nowadays, many people choose to be self employed, rather than to work for a company. Why might be this case? what are the disadvantages

Working remains priority for all. There exists numerous employment opportunities from working in an mnc to running their own business. The transition to working as self employed is on a rise. The essay essentially takes into account the factors for the same and mentions the disadvantages of being self employed. The average working duration in a job lasts for about 9 hours. A nine hour working shift somehow compromises with the work-life balance of a person leading to an unsatisfied, monotonous and an impractical routine. Moreover, in many cases, the remuneration a person gets has failed to fulfil one's requirements. Further discussing the previous points, self-employment allows flexible yet personalised working. There remains absolutely no limitation to what extent one can earn or work. Additionally, many people remain insecure regarding their job security which certainly is not an issue with self employment. Self employment, however, is not a perfect form of employment. The initial cost of setting up a business costs a fortune. There exists a requirement for constant efforts inorder to successfully sustain the business which is not only tough but mentally and physically exhausting. Most importantly, incase of a health emergency, the flow of earnings get restricted since the business functions on the isntructions of only one person, ie the owner. Added to this, there are no addtional incentives similar to what the workers in an mnc are entitled to. Lastly, self employment involves a high volume of risk. Gaining stability and performance is mostly dependent on one person which sometimes leave to unfavourable results due to incompetency. While there remains no doubt that self employment has it's advantages and disadvantages as mentioned but if the self employed is able to outperform and overcoming the disadvantages, then surely the transition is worth the risk.