Nowadays many job seekers are finding jobs that force them to move far from their family and friends. Is it a positive or a negative trend? What can be done about it?

With the world becoming extremely populated, the search for jobs has also become more competitive. This leads candidates to expand their searches and consequently move far from their family and friends. This trend might have a negative impact and some changes must be sought, what will be explored in the following paragraphs. Unfortunately, living far from their loved ones might trigger depression in some people. It takes time to get to know an area and make friends, especially in the beginning, so people start feeling lonely. If the person is older, for example, it is even harder to start a friendship when everybody around has already created their social circles. This is different from children whose mothers schedule play dates with other children. However, employers play an important role in this scenario. Since companies are hiring people from abroad, they should arrange for this transition to be smoother. For instance, employers could allow employees monthly days offs so they could visit relatives, at least during the first months. In addition, some offices in Brazil have started group activities to include new hires and give them the opportunity to fraternize with their co-workers. In sum, there are many ways for employers to help their new employees adapt to the new environment. In conclusion, although one of the downsides of finding job opportunities abroad is loneliness and possible depression, employers should be responsible for this transition and for making it easier. In this essay, I have presented the negative impact of living far from family and friends, but also offered some suggestions to minimize it.