Nowadays many countries have very cosmopolitan cities with people from all over the world. How can the government ensure that all these people can live together harmoniously? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today's global world, there is a heavy infusion of foreign cultures in any region. This leads to a lot of mixing between the two cultures. Following is a discussion that highlights the government's role in making sure that all the cultures can live together in harmony and peace. Firstly, the government has to make sure that no culture is left behind or left under-developed. The government of any country reflects the mindset of the people of the country. Since the government is responsible for the safety and general well-being of all its people including those who did not vote for it, it has to be impartial in terms of law and drafting rights. If the government tends to neglect any section of people, it might cause the people to engage in similar behavior as well. It might cause the developed or developing cultures to look down on the other lesser developed cultures. This might generate some kind of hostility in the cultures being left behind. This hostility might come out in the form of strikes, protests, or even riots. Secondly, if any conflict does arise, the government has to make sure to maintain a neutral stance and try to minimize the conflict. An excellent example of such behavior from the government can be seen in the case of the recent Jocusta protests, wherein the government interfered too late which led to a lot of damage to life and property. Had the government mediated between the two cultural sections earlier, this could've been avoided. However, the government received a lot of praise from both the cultural groups for its impartial decision. Thirdly, the government has to respect all the cultures and its people. This can be achieved by simply recognizing the achievements of people from all cultures and allowing them to celebrate their festivals. Lastly, each government should make conscious efforts to make sure that each culture can maintain its identity. There should be no attempts by the government or other cultures to force certain rituals or customs down their throats. However, the government should also make sure that all cultures are allowed to interact among themselves. Each culture should have an opportunity to mix and socialize with different cultures. This can be achieved by inter-cultural festivals and organizations. In addition to the aforementioned duties, the government should also keep the extremists in check. Most extremists can be seen engaging in behavior that is aimed that aggravating the masses. This should be swiftly and promptly be dealt with. In conclusion, the government of any country plays an important role in making sure that multiple cultures can sustain in an environment that is mutually respectful to each one of those cultures. It can do so by being just, impartial towards all cultures and allowing all cultures an equal opportunity to grow in a mutually conductive and respectful environment.