Nowadays, lots of youngsters tend to have a higher level of education more than ever before

Nowadays, lots of youngsters tend to have a higher level of education more than ever before. Some individuals proposed the idea that admission to universities should be based on an equal number of each gender per subject. I, however, strongly disagree with this viewpoint as I believe that the acceptance ought to be established on applicants’ interests and qualifications. A good reason that the idea of having the same proportion of seats for males and females in each academic field is not practical is that either gender has its own specific interests. Dividing seats equally among boys and girls without considering their area of interest can hinder their learning ability, start on a reluctance to continue education, and lack of abundance applicants to the desired gender in that particular area of study. It, moreover, can lead to vacant seats and expose higher education institutions to the risk of losing their profit and reputation. If we, for instance, put a male in a feminine subject, such as abstract art, we should expect his impending failure as, in reality, many fields of study are more popular among one gender than the other. Another point to consider is that equality in the number of genders in each field is opposed to merit-based selection. Every student, in other words, should be designated to the subject according to their qualification. For instance, rejecting a female applicant in favor of a male student with lower grades and fewer abilities is neither rational nor beneficial. In conclusion, it is believed that there should be the same number of students of each gender in every university subject. However, I entirely disagree with this assertion since it may result in a disinclination to remain in the subject as well as more academic failures.