Nowadays, having plastic surgeries are becoming increasingly popular. Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

These days, many people are opting for plastic surgeries to change their appearance. While this can have some negatives, I believe they are far outweighed by the positives. There are several drawbacks associated with having plastic surgeries. One of them is the fact that the success rates of these operations are fairly low. This means that people who choose plastic surgeries often risk their natural appearance and health if the surgery goes wrong. In fact, there have been many instances where people particularly actors and singers who regret changing their looks through cosmetic surgeries. Another disadvantage might be the fact that if too many people go for changing their physical appearance, this may promote the ideology that the society today is for only good-looking people. This may result in social discrimination. Despite these downsides, I believe the benefits are more significant. One of the major advantages of being able to have a better look thanks to surgeries is the confidence boost and improved self-esteem. As we live in society where people are often judged by their appearance rather than personality traits, those who are less attractive feel isolated from the community. Because of this very reason, having a better look can maximize the chances of employment for a range of profession. In the cases of actors or singers, for example, attractiveness is one of the most important criteria as they often engage with the public and to draw other people’s attention, the exterior plays a part. In conclusion, although plastic surgeries can at times have disadvantages such as the fact that they are less successful and they can contribute to discrimination, I feel they are not as significant as the advantages which include increased confidence and employability. Advantage: boosts self-confidence Having a better look means more opportunities in terms of employment. Disadvantage: success rate is low and this can worsen the situation.