discuss advantages and disadvantages of increasing expectancy

Mother Nature has created humanity with lots of outstanding cognitive abilities compared to other species, yet humans are significantly influenced by the limitation in terms of life expectancy. However, with the relentless development of technology in the aspects of medical and living conditions, the world is now witnessing a dramatic increase in life span which brings about not only some tremendous benefits but also drawbacks to human civilization. Therefore, it is crucially necessary to look at both the pros and cons of this rising trend before a conclusion can be reached. On the plus side, the detected advantages regarding humans’ life expectancy are undoubtedly manifold. To begin with, living longer enables the elderly to engage in the labour market and devote themselves to the future of the society due to their abundant experiences. For instance, when schools or universities hold competitions for their students, they can invite some retired teachers to be the judges as they have more expanded knowledge to be able to assess more accurately and objectively. Additionally, as people live longer, they can be exposed to many important changes in society which allow them to easily discover and understand the true hidden value of life. Last but not least, with the increasing number of old people, scientists and inventors can have the motivation to create such hi-tech devices to boost their physical and mental health, and ultimately improve the citizens’ living standard. Nevertheless, the disadvantages of soaring life expectancy can not be easily ignored. Initially, the overwhelming diseases of old people require them to be provided with the best treatments, which eventually create such a huge burden on health services, especially in this COVID-19 pandemic. Consequently, the government has to invest a large amount of money from the national budget, which can be used for many other social issues, in building hospitals, nursing homes for the old. Moreover, this increasing trend can lead to overpopulation, which is a result of the imbalance between the birth and death rate, while the national ability is unable to meet all the residents’ demands. In conclusion, there are several advantages as well as disadvantages about the recent increasing trend of life span. However, I personally believe that the benefits eventually outweigh the drawbacks and, in my opinion, governments should find a solution to minimize the negative consequences and maximize the benefits.