Nowadays due to developments in technology, communication and transportation, people have the opportunity to live and work wherever they please. Do the advantages of this matter outweigh the disadvantages? pxey

In this day and age, people are advantaged to be living in a world that they are able to telework owing to developments in technology, communication and transportation. This can lead to some beneficial points such as saving time and money, decrease in traffic congestion so a drop in air pollution. Teleworking prevents us from having to commute five days a week so at least two hours a day can be saved and spent on home chores or relaxation. Also by not being obligated to go somewhere else to work, the money expenditure on gas for personal cars or ticket for bus or train can be saved. In this case, the traffic congestion rate would fall. Since less cars might be seen on streets and busses may be less crowded, the air is likely to become less polluted. On the other hand, one might not be motivated as they are in a workplace. As a matter of fact, beside getting help from colleagues whenever needed, being in a professional environment can derive you to do your job better. Additionally, distraction can be another disadvantage and it can bring down work efficiency. I believe setting a certain quiet workspace with fixed working hours can keep people more disciplined and compensate the disadvantages. By and large, teleworking seems to be much more desirable than having to commute to work in traffic everyday since you have the ability to choose the place you work. So the benefits outweigh the downsides.