Nowadays criminals are usually imprisoned. Is this way working or not? Are there better ways to punish/rehabilitate criminals?

In recent years, it has been observed that offenders are generally sentenced to imprisonment for minor and serious crimes. This essay will look into whether this practice is beneficial or not and will suggest some better modes of punishment. Admittedly, captivating criminals is the most successful form of punishment but I believe, it has some repercussions as well. In some countries, like Pakistan, criminals of petty crimes are also kept in prison for years which makes the prison over crowded, as a result, a number of problems arise. For example, according to a newspaper report, central jail of Punjab is captivating thousands of prisoners which is beyond its capacity and resultantly, prisoners are deprived of food and other necessities. In addition, this may also pave easy path for serious criminals to lure minor offenders into the world of crimes, as it gets increasingly difficult for the guards to keep an eye on each and every prisoner. However, there are other ways with which criminals of minor offences can be punished and put on right path. Firstly, most of the minor offences are committed because of unemployment and teaching new skills, instead of years of imprisonment, is certainly a better option. This will allow criminals to acquire jobs and will forbid them from committing crimes in the future. Secondly, community services, commonly used in the USA, is also an effective method for rehabilitation of criminals. This method is specially successful to discipline young offenders and give them the opportunity to correct their mistakes. In conclusion, imprisoning every criminal, regardless of the severity of the crime, is making jails overcrowded and it also enables serious criminals to attract minor offenders to crime world. Therefore, educating the criminals and community service are probably better ways to treat offenders of minor crimes.