Nowadays, city dwellers are facing a vast array of problems affecting their quality of life. What are the difficulties encountered by urban citizens? What can be done to make cities more liveable?

It is true that a vast majority of urban residents these days have had better quality of life thanks to social enhancement in general as well as other factors in particular. However, there are also existing difficulties influencing their lives that need to be dealt with. One of the common issues encountered by most city dwellers is unemployment. As a matter of fact, those who live in the countryside have a tendency to migrate to the city for better lives and job opportunities, which demands a large number of jobs every year that the government and authorities are unable to provide, especially during the covid-19 pandemic when there is currently a drastic decline in the social economy. This may cause an increase in poverty, crime rates, and loss of skills. Furthermore, air pollution is also a prevalent issue in major cities, resulting from numerous sources such as vehicle exhaust fumes, waste from industrial plants and factories, . . . This type of contamination not only leads to human respiratory and health concerns but also accelerated global warming as well as other detrimental effects on people’s quality of life. There are several actions that governments could take to solve the obstacles described above. Firstly, a simple solution would be to promote the migration from urban areas to rural ones. If the population density is reduced; air pollution will also decrease, as there is going to be less exhaust from traffic congestion, power plants. . . Besides, opening more businesses or facilities in rural areas could persuade people to stay there longer. As one has found their suitable occupation, they will be able to take care of their own lives and find less incentive to live in big cities, which helps prevent overpopulation and unemployment problems. In conclusion, various measures can be taken to combat the issues that adversely affect people’s lives.