Drug abuse is an increasing problem in modern times. Discuss some reasons behind this and suggest ways it can be hindered.

In recent years, surging drug-related problems have become a hotly debated topic in the media. Although drug abuse creates immense consequences for society, some solutions can be implemented to address this social evil. There are some major causes of this phenomenon. First, the media portray drugs as glamorous that touch people’s curiosity. Some celebrities, for example, have posted photos and videos of them feeling excited and high after using drugs, thereby arising thoughts of consuming those inside audience’s mind. Second, the more urbanization happens, the more people seek drugs as therapy for their bodies. It seems ironic, but society might become more flourishing at the expense of people’s degenerate health since they would have to handle an abundance of obligations and responsibilities. Consequently, some may choose drugs to relieve their stress. However, there are some ways to reduce the harmful effects of this problem. The first solution is for the government to enact a new policy that students and workers do not be coerced into studying multiple subjects or working too hard. As a result, people can easily balance their work and leisure time and no longer access harmful substances. On top of that, anti-drug campaigns should be held to raise individuals’ awareness of how drugs can decay their bodies and life. If these campaigns have the presence of influencers and speakers, this message can be better spread to more people so that a larger number of people have insights into the dangerous effects of them. In conclusion, as much as drug abuse cases are increasing significantly, plenty of solutions can be taken to tackle this problem.