Nowadays artificial intelligence is being used to drive cars. Why this is happening? Is it a positive or negative development?

Recently, we have seen a drastic increase in automated cars that are driven by artificial intelligence technology. This trend is ongoing due to the advancement in modern technology, and it should be seen as a positive development because it will help to solve traffic congestion. The primary reason for increased demand in artificial intelligence cars is due to ever changing modern technology. In the past, we used to drive manual transmission vehicles and today, the majority of us are using more efficient and reliable automated transmission because it saves our times from doing repetitive tasks over and over. The same applies to cars that are driven by AI, which can drive by itself as per an owner's preference. Tesla motors, is a shining example of this. Earlier they didn't receive enough attention from the general public because they didn't use recent technology. Afterwards, they introduced an Autopilot feature and before they knew it, their market value increased drastically. Automated driving cars can bring a plethora of advantages, to my mind, one of the most potent one would be improving traffic problems. It is the fact that people habit of driving cars, such as over speeding, changing lanes on highway unnecessarily are the leading factors of accidents and traffic jams. It stands to reason that when these people's cars can be driven by robotic system which is designed to follow the rules, their individual impact towards traffic situation would reduce to a great extend. I am not alone in this view, and there is plenty of empirical evidence can be provided to support it. A 2007 study, for instance, conducted by a team of researchers at the University of Toronto found that those cars which are equipped with AI technology have reduced the rate of car accidents during a winter season compared to human driven cars because these cars were able to detect uncertain road conditions and change the driving pattern accordingly. To sum up, I maintain that artificial intelligence should leveraged for improving the traffic conditions in many cities and this will be advantageous for the government as well as for the society members. It is my sincere wish that this technology should be used more and more.