Nowadays, an increasing number of people are concerned about health problems caused by high levels of sugar in food and drink.

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are concerned about health problems caused by high levels of sugar in food and drink. Some suppose that the price of sugary products should be higher to restrict sugar consumption. As far as I am concerned, the rising price is not a good way to encourage people to consume less sugar. First, it is obvious that it is not the market but the government that is responsible for health problems due to high levels of sugar. This is because the government has the ability to restrict the amount of sugar added into products. If the government can set a criteria of lower levels of sugar that can be added in products and punish the manufacturers who violate the rules, then the health problems would be thawed subsequently. Besides, sugar is fairly significant to some people and the high price of it may make a great difference to their lives. For example, people who suffer from low-bloodsugar are becoming pretty common nowadays and more expensive sugar may affect the health of them, but probably not a positive one. However, that is not to say that the higher price of sugary products is useless to help health problems. There are, of course, some people who suffer from diabetes and the higher price may encourage them to consume less sugar, but still, this is not the only method. In sum, sugary products should not be made more expensive. Meanwhile, it is vital for the government to help restrict the levels of sugar. Only in this way can we reduce the health problems caused by sugar.