Nowadays, an increasing number of countries are confronted with the disappearance of cooking skills. What is the situation like in your country? Do you agree that the young children should be taught home cooking in school?

The fast paced life of today and the easy availability of ready to eat foods have made cooking skills take a back seat in many parts of the world. Fortunately, culinary skills are still hale and hearty in India. I agree that cooking should be taught in schools. A number of arguments surround my opinion. To begin with, today children belong to nuclear families and in most cases both parents are working. If children know cooking, they can cook for themselves in times of need. They will not have to sleep hungry or eat some unhealthy readymade alternative. Secondly, today many students go abroad for their higher education. There they would not face any food problem if they have culinary skills. Furthermore, cooking can unite the whole family. While cooking, everyone can talk and share their experiences. All of the family members can help in chopping, slicing and cooking the dinner. Hence, if schools teach culinary arts, students can learn the importance of cooking leading them in uniting the whole family. Another big advantage would be that children would also know the value of healthy ingredients of food. As it is, today, children are suffering from obesity. This is mainly because of the fast foods available. If cooking is taught in schools, then children will also be taught the side effects of eating such junk food which is saturated with low quality fats and salts. Definitely, they would refrain from eating too much fast food. To conclude, there is no doubt that home cooking is a disappearing skill in many countries. Therefore, it would be advisable to add it as a subject in schools.