Now-a-days many people choose to be self-employed, rather than work for a company. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantage of being self-employed?

The majority of laborers, recently, choose to work freelance instead of working under a firm or an employer. People do so to get rid of the work pressure and monotonous nature of labor in companies. However, being self-employed involves certain risk factors also. There are good enough reasons for why employees are attracted towards being their boss. Most importantly, the workload and pressure an employee face while being paid by another one is alarmingly increasing today. This is mostly seen among IT professionals, where the companies exploit the young minds by setting targets and forcing them to work round the clock. Another cause that triggers professionals to become freelancers is the repetitive nature and boredom of works in the organization. Employees get a limited chance to explore themselves while working under an employer, but through self-employment, they can come up with innovative ideas and often convert their passion into a profession. Bill Gates, for example, resigned from his work since it was not appealing for him, and from that point, he utilized his creative mind, later become a model to the young aspirants. Therefore, increased work stress along with boredom at companies make laborers take the option of self-employment where more liberty is served. Nevertheless, the negative side of self-employment cannot be sidelined. Firstly, the financial risk employed among such persons is relatively higher than those who receive definite pay from their boss. The whole responsibility of capital and other running expenses are shouldered by the freelancer and a minimum income per month is not at all warrantied. Even the payment for skilled artists are seasonal, so at times they have to face fluctuations with income. Moreover, self employers have to struggle a lot, in the beginning, to compete with those who already exist in the market. This task requires sheer perseverance and patience which is lacked by the majority of innovators. Hence, self-employment is not at all an easy task as it involves some drawbacks such as elevated financial as well as a professional responsibility. To conclude, the thought of self-employment is gathering momentum among professionals because of the stress and unappealing nature of works at companies. Even though freelancers enjoy great freedom, they have to take greater risks and pay a good amount of hard work to get excelled in their careers.