Now a day the surveillance is happening at almost all public places. Is it good or perceived bad by people? What are advantages and disadvantages?

With the technological advancement, Artificial Intelligence (AI) system is becoming stronger and marking its footprint in almost every sector as it is being used by an individual to corporates to local governments for varied purposes. More often, surveillance is perceived as better by many people as it has varied advantages. This is because of citizen feel safe and secure due to such monitoring by the government in public places. Firstly, the cameras installed at roads, entrance of different public premises such as malls, gardens, schools, library, etcetera enables monitoring of safety and security of the citizens from any unsaid theft. In addition, specific intelligent cameras installed at the traffic signals are helping the administration to keep checks on traffic violation to levy penalties on the defaulters which is an added benefit for enforcing the regulations for the road safety. Apart from this, in the country like India, it is not permitted to express your feelings in public as it is considered against the rudimentary culture that impacts negatively on younger persons especially children. Surveillance in the public domain helps to restrict such kind of activities and maintain the obedient culture of Indian society. It is a boon for the police department who always lacks reliable evidence for justice, but this system has solved such problem of developing real-time, untampered evidence for any crime. With the said merits, surveillance at public locations is considered as good for the city and its citizens. On the other hand, there are a set of people who believe that it is bad due to its fewer disadvantages. Considering the fact, it may showcase wrong interpretation due to breakdown or faults in the system as it is an IT-enabled and hence sometimes one cannot completely rely on it to take major decisions. On top of that, there is a threat of data leaking which may hinder one’s privacy and safety. However, these situations can be avoided by strengthening the systems. Thus, considering both the scenarios, it can be concluded that at any point of time surveillance is good and more advantageous for the people for safely strolling at the public places. Therefore the government should consider replicating the system at all the public places.