How can the government make sure that people save enough money to live on when they are old?

Unfortunately, some older citizens do not have enough saved money, therefore, they struggle to afford simple necessities. It is believed the government should implement a set of regulations to help those in need and resolve this issue. One of the possible suggestions is to encourage citizens to save money by doubling their savings at the time of retirement. This way adults will know that their hard work will be paid off at the end. For instance, it is pretty rare nowadays among young adults not to spend everything and have at least a small fund at the bank for emergency situations. Most of them live like their day is first, and not the last. Another solution is to provide financial consultations. So uneducated are some citizens about their situation that they do not know where to start. Guidelines would be helpful for them. There are different techniques available that teach us how to not spend everything that you earn, but unfortunately, most people are either afraid to start or think that it is to complicated. It seems to me that the concern about saving money would not occur if the government would increase the minimum retiring allowance. Those who have worked their entire life, even on a minimum paid jobs, should receive an adequate amount as most probably they were not able to save enough. For example, it is pretty tough to raise children, cover all bills and groceries expenses, most importantly rent, if both adults have minimum waged jobs. Authorities should assure citizens in those circumstances that they are covered as well. All in all, it is very possible to enhance the system. But it is important to concentrate on the issue already to avoid complications in the future. Those who are retired should not depend on somebody else for support.