Newspapers have influenced people's ideas and opinions. What ore the reasons for this? Is this a positive or a negative situation?

Media has an indubitable role in refining the outlook of people. This essay intends to analyze the reasons fr this. Admittedly, the influence created by media is largely positive, although there is a slight negative effects also. Firstly, the diverse news in print media brings out huge responses and emotions in people. Newspapers have a wide coverage and manage to fetch the latest happenings around the globe. The way news items are reported influences the way people think and act. Moreover, media always presents the news in an appealing way. which catches people's attention and they want to dig into it deeper. People find such news hard to be neglected. The quest of people to know more about the world is undoubtedly well looked after by the media, It is the media because of which the people are aware about what the government is doing for them, and through letters to the editor they can reach out their voice to be heard by the government. People realize that media is a link between them and the government, and so it influences their opinions even more. The influence created by the media is undoubtedly positive as knowledge about one's fellow beings makes ore more empathetic and alert. The fact that media update people with both good and bad latest happenings is a helpful influence. For example, media's wide coverage of rapes and murders in surrounding areas creates sympathy as well as alertness in people. The live television of instances like earthquakes and floods helos people to be proactive. For example, when tsunami hit Japan in 2011, people from all over the world came out to help. The varied other information like entertainment, sports and arts is good enough to ease the stress level. On the other hand, although there are some unhealthy practices like gutter-press Journalism, cheque-book journalism and libel writing, people today are mature enough to take it all with a pinch of salt, and use their own analytical ability to shape their judgement. Such media, which takes the help of ill-founded news and other wrong means cannot sustain long. On the whole, media always act as custodians of the interest of the general public. To conclude, media is powerful enough to influence one's attitudes and thought process because of many reasons. However, such changes always act positively despite some drawbacks.