Newspapers affect people’s ideas and opinions. If you agree, is it a positive or a negative development?

Newspapers have an enormous influence on the perception and beliefs of society. In my opinion, I allude to the fact that this phenomenon is a positive one as it enlightens the population on the happenings across the globe as well as it educates them on employment opportunities and both factors will be discussed in this dissertation. A primary positive development of printed media on the population is that it enlightens the media on events happening around the world. In other words, when people read newspapers, they become alerted about the situations across the globe which enables them to take appropriate precautions. For instance, the Cameroon Tribune newspaper informed the population on the surge in the Covid-19 pandemic in Morocco that made the government to implement stringent measures in order to curb the propagation of the pandemic in the country. Hence, the press provides vital information on global issues which raises the awareness of citizens in a country. In addition, printed media offers a positive impact in educating the masses on numerous employment opportunities. To put this simply, people are keen to follow information in the press because they believe they might discover useful content on job opportunities which are prevalent on magazines than on other media like television. As an illustration, many youths in Cameroon benefited from numerous job advertisement which was made public by the Cameroon Tribune newspapers. As a result, this reduces the rate of unemployment as citizens become aware of certain job openings in key industrial sectors. To conclude, I vehemently concur to the fact that information from the press has a positive development on societal perception as it provides information on global world crisis and educates the population on key employment prospects which can be quite beneficial to some.