Newspaper and magazines constitute an important part of the media. Newspapers and magazines, however, do not only provide information but also affects people's psychological well-being and world view. Discuss the argument in the favor and against the censorship of newspapers and magazines.

Like other forms of mass media, newspapers and magazines not only provide information but also affects people's behaviour and feelings. There is heated debate about whether the content of newspapers and magazines should be controlled. Censoring of print media appeals to many people, but uncensored press advocates believe that the importance of acess to all-around information far outweighs it's risks. One argument in favor of the need for censorship is the fact that newspapers and magazines are read by people of different ages and groups, including children and adolescents. If press remains uncensored, negative information such as articles about crime can have an undesirable effect on the behaviour can inspire young readers to engage in delinquent activities. A further common criticism of uncensored press is related to publicizing frequently biased information about celebrities and politicians. Such articles often contain sensational news or value judgements. The press, thus, can hurt the feelings of people whose personal lives come under the spotlight. The damage, then, that uncensored print media can cause to different groups of people determines the need to control it. Opponents of censorship disagree with press censorship. They claim that exclusion of negative information from print media would provide an incomplete picture of reality. Specially, people, would be unaware of dangerous and menaces lurking in the everyday reality and would be unable to deal with them. In addition, opponents of censorship claim that people can decide what information is important for them and what they need to avoid. Lastly, people's reactions to the same information differ. As John Locke, a famous eighteenth century British philosopher, once said, 'Reading furnishes the mind only with material of knowledge, it is thinking that makes what we read ours'. In conclusion, I firmly believe that it is the responsibility of each individual to be selective about what to read. Censored information in print media would give an incomplete picture of reality and thus mislead its readers.