News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported?

Broadcast of certain news on television or printing particular news in newspapers depends upon what news editors want to show the people. The decisions upon the news to be published relies on majority of populations interest. Nowadays, individuals are more keen on bad news than good news, as they get attracted to them. In my opinion it would be better if more good news are reported to keep the spirits of people high. Bad news are being welcomed more than pleasant news by all the societies around the globe. Editors tend to publish the tragic incidents and accidents that took place as the audience demand such news. For instance, in a newspaper columns about 60% of articles revolves around the demeaning incidents of today's life. Based on the survey conducted by the health magazine, 75% of the people who underwent survey are more interested in learning about the bad news. Thus, the minds of population are used to read bad news which eventually lead to publication of more news about the horrific incidents that are being taken place. Good news keeps your mind tranquil, away from the stress. It would be better to report more about good news to improve the mental health of the individuals. News related to sports, motivational speakers, victories and success stories of famous personalities will help encourage the individuals to achieve their goals. According to the World health organisation, 59% of the individuals are affected mentally due to the tragic incident they learn from newspapers. Hence, good news should be encouraged for betterment of the individuals psychological health. People who oppose say that tragic incidents happening around the globe should be known to everyone and should not be avoided. Nevertheless, they need not be completely avoided but should be prevented from elaborating. However, news around the globe should be published preventing to focus only on bad news. Therefore, both good and bad news should be learnt and given equal importance rather than only focusing on unpleasant news. In conclusion editors of news channels and newspaper should be aware of the consequences and impact the badness is causing the people and act accordingly. Good news are to be reported to maintain and help to individuals mental health.